Pappa al Pomodoro Soup, Zucchini & Feta Tart

Pappa al Pomodoro Soup. I found this soup recipe in the September issue of InStyle magazine. The recipe is from I Sodi Restaurant in New York. The chef is Rita Sodi and both my husband and I both enjoyed this soup. It was not heavy and the bread just added a comfy texture.

Serves 6
3 tbsp. olive oil
3 large garlic cloves, minced (I did not add garlic)
1/3 cup chopped basil
2 tbsp chopped fresh sage
1 1/4 lb. ripe, peeled, seeded tomatoes, chopped (about 5 medium)
3 slices day-old white peasant bread, cut into 1/2-inch cubes
3 cups water
Olive oil and basil leaves for garnish

Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium heat. Add garlic, basil and sage and cook for 2 minutes or until garlic begins to brown. Stir in tomatoes and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Add bread and water. Return to boil and reduce heat. Stir, breaking up bread with back oa a wood spoon. Let soup simmer for 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Ladle into bowls, drizzle with additional olive oil and garnish with basil leaves.

Also made a Zucchini and Feta Tart from the Closet Cooking blog. There are a lot of really good recipes on this blog. The tart was made with puff pastry, which I love. And the finished product was so pretty! I will make this recipe again and again.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pappa al Pomodoro Soup, Zucchini & Feta Tart

  1. BumbleVee says:

    uh oh…. this looks great too…I could be here a while ogling all your recipes…. yum!

Comments are closed.