Pizza Two Ways

I made a double batch of pizza dough so I made 2 different pizzas. One was a slight variation from the Closet Cooking blog. I really intended to follow the recipe as it was posted but the thought of the house smelling like onions just didn’t grab me. So I omitted them. But I am quite sure they would have been a delicious addition.

Ingredients:
2 cups butternut squash (cut into 1/2 inch cubes)
1 tablespoon olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
dried sage leaves
1 pizza dough
1 cup mozzarella cheese (grated)
1/4 cup gorgonzola (crumbled)

Directions:
Toss the butternut squash with the olive oil.
Roast the squash in a preheated 350F oven until tender, about 30-40 minutes and set aside.
Spread the butternut squash and the cheeses over the pizza dough and sprinkle the dried sage on top.
Bake in a preheated 500F oven until golden brown on top, about 15 minutes.

The second pizza was tomato sauce, parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese.
The butternut squash pizza was really good. I usually just make the tomato sauce and cheese pizza but butternut squash and gorgonzola cheese… you can’t go wrong.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pizza Two Ways

  1. Velva says:

    Holy cow! That looks so good. That was a lot of pizza you made- tell me there was some leftover for a good work lunch too.?
    Closet cooking has some great recipes on his blog. I made his chipotle lime shrimp and loved it.

    As always, really enjoy blog post.

  2. bchmomx3 says:

    Oh my, that looks fantastic. I wonder if my kids would eat that. I love butternut squash.

  3. My husband actually ate more of the butternut squash pizza if that helps determine if you kids will eat it. I was surprised!

Comments are closed.