Stuffed Buttercup Squash

When I was shopping the other day I noticed a squash I had never tried. Buttercup Squash. After doing some research I came up with this recipe from Cooks.com, with a couple of changes, of course.

I cut the Squash in half and removed the seeds. I baked the squash cut side down for 45 minutes. Meanwhile I sauteed chopped onion in a knob of butter. Added ground beef and browned it. After the meat cooled I mixed it with 2 eggs, 1 chopped tomato, 1/4 cup Parmesan Cheese and 1 cup Cheddar Cheese salt, pepper, parsley and oregano. Then I filled each squash half with the mixture and topped it with Panko Breadcrumbs and baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.

It was a snowy (?) night and this was a warm and comfortable meal.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Stuffed Buttercup Squash

  1. Kim says:

    I love the idea of stuffing these with beef and topping with panko – yum! They look really pretty.

  2. bchmomx3 says:

    This looks wonderful! Yummy!!

    I hope that you feel better soon!

  3. girlichef says:

    This is such an awesome fall meal…pure comfort! I love your header photo. 😀

  4. Thank you! It was perfect for the fall and you can put anything in as a filling.

  5. Velva says:

    Squash is so flavorful when it's baked. Stuffing it with your favorite ingredients just brings it to a new level. Your dish looks really nice.

  6. Erica says:

    We have a similar dish in Colombia! I have to make it soon!

  7. I picked up some more squash this weekend and am looking for different fillings to try.

Comments are closed.