Mom’s Baked Macaroni

It is about a year now that we have had our freezer. It was the best investment I have made. This week I did not do any cooking. So into the freezer we go. This Baked Macaroni was my mom’s recipe and I have made it quite often. Each time I switch up the cheeses. This one batch was true to my mom’s recipe. Just American Cheese.

The recipe
Boil
1/2 pound elbow macaroni
Grease pyrex loaf pan.

Alternate layers of
macaroni and American cheese starting with the macaroni.
Break
3 eggs and pour over macaroni. Fill baking dish with milk to almost cover macaroni.
Top with
bread crumbs, and parsley.
Bake 350 degrees until set, usually about 45 minutes to 1 hour.


And that is it. It is perfect as a base recipe. If you suddenly find yourself with all sorts of left over cheese. True comfort food.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mom’s Baked Macaroni

  1. Kim says:

    This sounds like a great recipe. I'm not too fond of the mac n cheese that starts with a bechamel base. I don't like that gritty taste that comes from adding the flour to a bechamel. I'd love to try this one because it doesn't start with that flour base. Sounds like it would be all nice and creamy.

  2. Thanks Kim. It is a good recipe and I hope you enjoy making it.

Comments are closed.