Southwestern Turkey Chili

Ground Turkey. Not something I use very often. After shopping around the Internet for a recipe I found Southwestern Turkey Chili on the FoodNetwork site. So first mistake was that I picked up Red Kidney beans instead of the spicy black beans. So I had to adjust the heat I added some Cholula Hot Sauce, the greatest stuff on the planet along with some chili powder.

Ingredients –
10 ounces lean ground turkey, crumbled
1 tablespoon all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 (28-ounce) can whole tomatoes
2 (14 1/2-ounce) can spicy black beans
1/4 cup tomato paste
Chopped red onion, for garnish

Method –
In a large resealable bag, toss turkey with flour until flour is absorbed into meat. Heat oil in a wide 2-quart pot over medium heat. Add turkey and cook until browned, about 5 minutes. Crush the canned tomatoes by hand and add tomatoes and liquid. Add beans and tomato paste. Simmer over medium-low heat until chili is slightly thick, about 8 minutes. Spoon chili into bowls. Top with onion. Serve hot.

I made some corn muffins with cheddar cheese using the Hodgson Mill Cornbread & Muffin Mix.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Southwestern Turkey Chili

  1. Kim says:

    I love chili made with ground turkey. It's actually our “go to” meat for all chili. Looks like it was delicious.

Comments are closed.