The Perfect Calzones

Tonight’s dinner started with the basic pizza dough recipe from Jim Lahey’s My Bread Book. I made the dough last week and divided it in 2 pieces and froze them.

I thawed one of the portions and had enough dough for 2 calzones. For Chris, I sauteed onions and fried some bacon. I filled mine with sauteed veggies – broccoli, carrots, red pepper, zucchini and some tofu. Also filled both with ricotta and mozzarella cheeses.

The fillings were good but the bread was perfect. We both devoured the calzones. I used a jarred marinara sauce that I picked up at Whole Foods. San Marzano Sauce. The link shows the price at $10 a jar… I did not pay that much. But it was the best jarred sauce I have tasted.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.