Eggplants and Tomato and Prosciuotto Stuffed Bread

This week’s meals, well at least for 4 nights will come from La Cucina, The Regional Cooking of Italy cookbook. Tonight I made Melanzane E Pomodori, Eggplants and Tomato. It reminded me of a deconstructed Eggplant Parmesan. It is from the Calabria region of Italy.

Ingredients
4 eggplants (about 2 lb.)
4 large eggs, beaten

2 tbsp. grated pecorino

Olive Oil

4 plum tomatoes, peeled, seeded, and chopped,
I used a 14 oz can of diced tomatoes, drained
Salt

Method
Peel the eggplants and cut them in small cubes. Put the cubes in salted water for about 1 hour. Meanwhile, mix the eggs and pecorino and set aside. Rinse and drain the eggplant cubes. Heat 1/4 inch of olive oil in a high-sided pan and fry the eggplant cubes until golden. Add the tomatoes and egg mixture and stir to cook the eggs until they set. Serve immediately.


I also made a stuffed bread. I used the other portion of pizza dough I had in the freezer from last week. I filled it with Prosciutto, Mozzarella and Swiss cheese. Wow it was good!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.