Butternut-Beef Chili

 

Again to the recipe box we go… This recipe was cut out from a magazine. I think it was Cooking Light. We both went back for seconds. And we had a nice bottle of Mandra Rossa Syrah to go with it. Hey it’s Monday so let’s open a bottle of wine! This is my version, I got caught up with work and forgot to add the jalapeno pepper, the scallions and the olives.

Ingredients
1 pound ground round
1 chopped onion
1 cup chopped green bell pepper (I used red bell pepper)
1 28 oz can whole tomatoes
3 cups chopped peeled butternut squash
3 cups water
1 1/2 tbsp. oregano
1 1/2 tbsp. ground cumin
1 1/2 tbsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 16 oz can kidney beans, drained
2 to 3 tbsp jalapeno peppers, minced
6 tbsp. thinly slice green onions
2 tbsp. cilantro


Combine the first 3 ingredients in a Dutch oven, and cook over medium-high heat until browned, stirring to crumble. Drain well; return meat mixture to pan. Stir in tomato and squash, water, oregano, cumin, chili powder, salt and kidney beans; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer for 20 minutes. until squash is tender, stirring occasionally. Stir in olive and jalapeno; cook 5 minutes. Ladle chili into soup bowls and top each serving with 1 tablespoon of green onions and 1 tsp. cilantro.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Butternut-Beef Chili

  1. First of all, I love the idea that your blog is all about sharing with readers what you shared with your mom. I'm sorry she's no longer with you. Your recipe looks delicious. I would never have thought of adding squash to chile but it sounds great.

Comments are closed.