Pizza and Pizzagaina!

Due to the baking that was going on we had Petrillo’s Pizza for dinner. Excellent pie and they deliver!

So I did some baking today. Easter baking. I usually make the Pizzagaina during Holy Week. But I had time today, the whole day, so I decided to get it done.

2 hours to make the pie crusts, the Pate Brise recipe with pepper added to it.

I then went to the grocery store and to the deli counter. I told the deli man that I needed some ham and pepperoni sliced about a quarter inch thick. He said, “Oh are you making Pizzagaina?”

This recipe is my mom’s. I have no idea where she got it from. But we made this every Easter for  as long as I can remember. Her recipe makes 2 pies, well that’s what she said but I end up with 3. Unless like this year I had to make 6 pies.

 
Italian Meat Pies

2 pounds baked ham, diced
1 pound pepperoni, skinned, diced and boiled
1 pound sweet sausage, fully cooked, drained
1 pound basket cheese

Mix all ingredients. Place in pie shell. Break 3 eggs over the top of the meat. Top with pie crust. Cut 3 slits in crust. Bake 350 degrees for 45 to 50 minutes.
And this year I ended up with 8 pies!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pizza and Pizzagaina!

  1. Mr. Bill says:

    Never heard of this before…sounds interesting and all my favorite ingredients!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    This recipe sounds yummy! I will have to try it! Thanks for passing it along!

Comments are closed.