Fresh Summer Minestrone and Parsley & Scallion Bread

I saw this recipe in the La Cucina eblast last week. It was, and I am quoting Chris, “This is delicious!”

Instructions

Bring 3 cups water to boil.

Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Add onion and cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add beans and boiling water; bring to a simmer, reduce heat to low, cover, and cook for 25 minutes.

Add potato and carrot and season with a few food pinches of salt. Continue to cook, covered, until beans are tender, about 40 minutes more.

Meanwhile, bring a medium saucepan of salted water to boil. Drop tomatoes into water and boil 30 seconds; drain, peel, seed and cut into 1/2-inch pieces.

When beans are tender, add tomato, corn, peas and spinach; simmer uncovered for 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Serve warm or room temperature, drizzled with oil and sprinkled with herbs and extra pepper.

To go with the soup I made Parsley and Scallion Bread, a variation on Cilantro and Scallion Bread from the new Bon Appetit. The dough was amazing to work with and the finished product very nice!
I want to thank the folks at Food 52 for the suggestions of substitutions for Cilantro in this recipe. I am just not a fan of Cilantro. But the Parsley was a great idea!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Fresh Summer Minestrone and Parsley & Scallion Bread

  1. Debi says:

    That looks like a good dinner. And I'm not a soup person, but I could totally murder a bowl of that right now!

  2. Jeanne says:

    YUM I would love a bowl minus the corn, I would cheat use can beans never had luck with died beans, one more thing I would use spray not a butter person, Chris is one well fed husband giving Chris credit by your past remarks he knows how to pick out wine.

  3. Velva says:

    When I think of minestrone, I always think of Winter. I need to get my act together and think summer minestrone. This looks delicious. The scallion bread is a nice touch.

    Velva

Comments are closed.