Lentil Soup

A quick post tonight… I have a lot of knitting to do… Another super easy and super delicious meal. Lentil soup from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything App.

Photo styling by Chris!

Ingredients
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil.1 onion, chipped
1 carrot, cut into 1/2 inch dice
1 celery stalk, cut into 1/2 inch dice
1 cup lentils, washed and picked over
1 bay leaf
6 cups chicken stock
Fresh ground pepper
Salt

Steps
Put the oil in a large deep pot over medium heat. When hot, add the onion and cook, stirring frequently until soft, just a minute or two. Add the carrot and celery and keep cooking and stirring until brightly colored and hot about 2 minutes.
Add lentils, bay leaf and stock; sprinkle with fresh ground pepper. Bring to a boil, then turn the heat to low and cook stirring occasionally, until the lentils are tender, about 30 minutes.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lentil Soup

  1. VE says:

    My mom used to make an ugly looking, but very good, lentil soup- that was suspiciously similar to the sauce she used for her macaroni and lentils. Pity I never learned how to make either of them, so I'll have to try reverse engineering it someday…

  2. Dzoli says:

    Love lentils and in teh soup tehy are the ebst;) Its true they are not the prettiest but taste is great:)

  3. You can never have too much lentil soup IMO πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.