Cod Grenoble-Style

Tonight we turn to Essential Pepin. Page 208 to be exact. First let me start by saying I had intended this cookbook to be a gift. But as I flipped through it I found myself saying, “Oh I want to make that!” quite a few times. So I am now the proud owner of this cookbook.
The recipe is called Halibut Steak Grenoble-Style. Chef Pepin suggests that Cod is a good substitute.
Wow, the flavors were wonderful. The crispy croutons and the lemon that was topped with browned butter. And I haven’t even mentioned the fish. And the prep time was good, under 30 minutes!
A note on the writing style of this book. It reminded me of the way my mother would tell me how to make a recipe. It was not pretentious. It was simple and easy to follow. It reads as if Chef Pepin is speaking directly to you. This recipe serves 4 as presented below.

Halibut Steaks Grenoble-Style

Ingredients

1/4 cup olive oil
2 slices firm white bread, crusts trimmed and cut in to 3/4 -inch cubes, about one cup (I used sliced Italian bread and kept the crusts on)
1 large lemon
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
4 halibut steaks (I substituted Cod fillets)
1/4 cup all purpose flour
8 tbsp butter
3 tbsp drained capers
2 tbsp chopped fresh parsley

Method

Heat 2 tbsp of the oil in large skillet until hot. Add the bread cubes and cook, turning with a spoon, until uniformly browned on all sides. Drain and set aside.
Using a sharp knife, remove the rind and white pith from the lemon. Cut the flesh into 1/2 inch cubes, removing the seeds as you go. (You should have about 1/3 cup.)
Sprinkle the salt and pepper on both sides of the fish and dip the Cod in the flour to coat on all sides; shake off any excess flour.
Heat 3 tbsp. butter and 2 tbsp. oil in large skillet. When the mixture is foaming, add the fish and cook over medium heat for about 3 minutes. With a wide spatula, turn the fish and cook for another 3 minutes, or until browned and crusty on both sides.
Arrange the fish on a serving platter with the nicest side showing. Sprinkle the croutons, lemon and capers on top and set it a warm place (such as a 150 degree oven – or 170 degrees which is as low as my oven goes!)
Melt the remaining 5 tbsp. butter in a skillet and cook until it takes on a hazelnut color. Pour the hot butter on top of the fish, sprinkle with parsley, and serve.

One other thing… Does anyone else read Eater? Well there was a story about an upcoming episode of the Simpsons, November 13, entitled “The Food Wife”. Click here for more details.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cod Grenoble-Style

  1. Rosemary says:

    I'm determined to add more fish to our regular diet! And how many times have I bought a cookbook as a gift and ended up keeping it!

Comments are closed.