Creamy Turkey Dijon Soup and Panini

 

Last night we had that turkey breast so tonight we had Turkey Dijon Soup. I liked the soup better than last night’s turkey breast, but enough about me and turkey. This soup was suggested by Chris. When we were dating we worked at a restaurant, Nancy Lee’s. She made an incredible Turkey Dijon Soup. I had never made the soup before so I googled it and found this recipe. Chris said it was very good, and he loved Nancy Lee’s soup, so that was a nod of approval for me!

Creamy Dijon Turkey Soup

1 cup celery chopped
1 cup onion thinly sliced
3 Tbs margarine
1 Large clove garlic minced
3 Tbs flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp white pepper
4 cups skim milk
1/4 cup Dijon-style mustard
2 tsp reduced-sodium chicken bouillon crystals
2 cups cooked turkey cubed
French bread

1. In 3-quart saucepan, over medium-high heat, saute celery and onions in margarine 5 to 6 minutes or until celery is tender and onions are golden brown. Add garlic and saute 1 to 2 minutes. Stir in flour, salt and pepper and cook 1 to 2 minutes. Remove pan from heat and slowly add milk, stirring constantly.

2. Return pan to medium-high heat, mix in mustard and bouillon; cook and stir 5 to 8 minutes or until mixture is thickened and bubbly. Stir in turkey and heat 1 to 2 minutes.

The panini were made with Roasted Red Pepper, Arugula and Provolone cheese.

Did I mention that Archie loves turkey…

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.