Welcome to Ham Week

Yes I do have a blog. No I have not posted all week. So here is a quick recap… Not sure week why this was exhausting. Perhaps the 4 days of rain had something to do with it. Well enough excuses.

Monday – Ham Steak with Green Beans and Aborio Rice
No photo. We have not had this for dinner for a while. It was good but actually I ended up eating the leftover Chicken Piccata from Saturday night!


Tuesday – Roasted Carrot and Parsnip Soup & Kale and Butternut Squash Pie

Okay no ham tonight. Last week I was at my Dad’s and he had 2 bags of carrots that he was not going to use. So I took them. No idea what I was going to make with them I found a recipe for Carrot and Parsnip Soup. Quite good. Chris added a extras to his bowl of soup.

The Kale and Butternut Squash Pie was from the Proud Italian Blog. I had made this before using puff pastry and this one was made a couple of weeks ago and put in the freezer. I do like it with the phyllo dough better than the puff pastry.

Wednesday – Bacon, Onion and Pepper Calzones

I was so hungry I almost ate the whole thing. We had homemade Marinara Sauce with them.

Thursday – Baked Ham and Rice Casserole.

No idea why I pulled so many Ham meals out of the freezer. But I did so… This dinner was from Every Night Italian by Giuliano Hazan. It is delicious and I love having a dish of this in the freezer.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.