Sweet Potato and Parsnip Soup

 
Happy Valentine’s Day!
What says I love you more than serving a dinner that is very healthy!

I found this recipe on the What’s Cookin site. The only change I made was instead of adding the onions with the other vegetables at the end I sauteed them then added the sweet potatoes and seasonings to the pan. The seasoning mix was interesting. A lot of ingredients that I don’t usually use at dinner. Both Chris and I enjoyed the flavors.

Ingredients:

2 lbs peeled, baked sweet potatoes
2 tbsp unsalted butter
2 tbsp garlic, finely chopped
6 cups chicken stock or broth, low sodium
1 cup onion, chopped small
2 cup spinach leaves, cut into small pieces
2 cup peeled parsnips cut into ½” pieces
4 cup Swiss chard leaves cut into 1” pieces
3 jalapenos, seeded and minced

Seasoning Mix:

1 tsp salt
1 ½ tsp paprika
1 tsp dill weed
½ tsp onion powder
¾ tsp black pepper
¾ tsp ground sage
½ tsp cinnamon
½ tsp garlic powder
½ tsp ground nutmeg
½ tsp white pepper


Combine seasoning mix in a small bowl. Bake sweet potatoes. Process the sweet potatoes in a food processor until smooth. Place the butter in a heavy 5-qt pot over high heat. Melt and add sweet potatoes, garlic and seasonings. Cook over medium heat for 6 minutes. Add 4 cups of stock. Stir to make sure nothing sticks for another 6 minutes. Add 2 more cups of stock and cook until boiling, about 8 minutes. Add onion, spinach, parsnips, chard and jalapenos. Stir and cover. Simmer for another 20 minutes. Add more stock if needed. Serves 6.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Sweet Potato and Parsnip Soup, What's Cookin. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sweet Potato and Parsnip Soup

  1. djawa says:

    ow., i like this., i want try to make it., 🙂

Comments are closed.