Italian Shepherd’s Pie with Polenta

I was going to make lasagna but no ricotta! 
Think fast. 
I had the ground beef. 
I just made a pan of marinara sauce and I had instant polenta. 
So what was for dinner?
Italian Shepherd’s Pie with Polenta.
 

I sauteed the beef, seasoning with salt, pepper, oregano, basil and parsley. I stirred in some frozen mixed vegetables, cooked them in the microwave first. I added some of the sauce and put the mixture in a casserole dish.  I had a little Scarmoza cheese that I tucked into the meat at about 1 inch intervals. Sprinkled some Mozzarella on top and then spread the cooked polenta (I had added a knob of butter and some Parmesan cheese to the polenta as it was finishing cooking). Baked at 375 for about 40 minutes.

 Delicious and there were no leftovers.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.