Italian Wedding Soup, My Way

I love this soup. Chris loved this soup. It was perfect for a cool day. While searching for a recipe for Italian Wedding Soup, and after reading a lot of different recipes, I settled on this version.

First of all, for the meatballs I used sausage meat. I used the same procedure as I was using for the hamburgers this summer, with a couple of changes. I  chopped up 2 slices of rye bread and added about 2 tablespoons of milk. That was left to sit for a moment. Then the bread and milk were mashed up and a beaten egg along with Parmesan cheese, fresh parsley and salt and pepper were mixed into the bread. The meat was added. The mixture seemed a little too moist so I added some plain bread crumbs until I was comfortable with the consistency. I do not usually add egg to my meatballs so I had to adjust for that. One of the many recipes added an egg so that’s why I did. Anyway, I shaped the meat into smaller than golf ball sized meatballs. A baking sheet was lined with parchment paper and the meatballs were placed on the baking sheet and into the oven at 350˚ for 30 minutes.

The soup was started by sautéing chopped onions, carrots and celery in 2 tablespoons of olive oil. I added 4 cups of chicken broth to the pan and let that simmer. Swiss chard which was chopped up was added along with the meatballs and some chopped up chicken meat I had in the freezer from when the broth was made. There was a little rice left over for Saturday’s dinner and that went in the pot too. Salt, pepper and thyme was added. I squeezed the juice from a half of a lemon into the pot. And that is how I made my soup.

I am so glad I made a large pot of this, looking forward to taking this out of the freezer.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Italian Wedding Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Italian Wedding Soup, My Way

  1. this sounds wonderful. I can't add the onions(allergies) but I certainly am going to try the sausage method … wow that looks good I can smell it from here! 🙂

Comments are closed.