Creamy Dijon Turkey Soup

Well we have leftover Turkey and Chris had a request. Dijon Turkey Soup. Perfect. I love anything with Dijon mustard. This is a variation on a recipe I found on the Jennie-O site. I made a large pot of Chicken Broth yesterday so I used that in place of the bullion and reduced the amount of milk.

Ingredients-
3 Tbsp Butter
1 Cup Onion, Chopped
1 Cup Celery, chopped
1 Cup Carrots, chopped
3 Tbsp Flour
2 Cups Roasted Turkey Breast, diced
1/2 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp White Pepper
2 Cups Milk
2 Cups Chicken Broth
1/4 Cup Dijon Mustard
1 tsp Chopped Fresh Thyme

Method-
In large saucepan on medium heat melt butter. Add onion, celery,and carrot. Cook 5 minutes until onion is softened, stirring occasionally.
Stir in flour, salt, and pepper. Cook 1 minute to cook flour.
Remove pan from heat. Slowly add milk and chicken broth, stirring constantly. Return pan to medium-high heat.
Stir in mustard and thyme. Cook 5 to 8 minutes or until mixture is thickened and bubbly, stirring occasionally.
Add turkey; cook, uncovered, for about 2 minutes or until hot.

This was delicious!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, Leftovers. Bookmark the permalink.