Salad Nicoise and Escarole and Sausage Stuffed Bread

Making it a little lighter tonight. (And planning my lunch for the week.) I have been wanting a salad for a while now. Perhaps it has been the endless snow and cold but I could not face a heavy winter meal. Don’t get me wrong I love winter comfort foods. Putting something in the oven to simmer for 3 or 4 hours is perfect for January. But I think we are in March. Enough already. Potatoes, Green Beans, Hard Boiled Eggs, Tomatoes, Feta Cheese, Olives, Roasted Golden Beets and some Scallions. I did not add the Tuna. Honestly there was plenty in the bowl to choose from. I made a simple vinaigrette consisting of Cider Vinegar, Dijon Mustard, Olive Oil, Parsley, Tarragon, Salt and Pepper. It was a nice change from beans in soup.

Now on to the bread. Last week I saw on Leon’s Restaurant’s Facebook page a photo of a Stuffed Bread with Sausage and Dandelion Greens. It looked delicious and I wanted to make some. I had Pizza Dough in the freezer and I picked up small head of Escarole and some Sausage. I cooked the Escarole, sauteed the Sausage.  Then I put everything along with some Provolone Cheese on the pizza dough and rolled it up to make the bread. A perfect side to the salad and enough leftovers to go with my salad for lunch. Always thinking ahead.

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Escarole and Sauage Stuffed Bread, Leon's Restaurant, Salad Nicoise. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Salad Nicoise and Escarole and Sausage Stuffed Bread

  1. I would eat all of this meal! WOW!

Comments are closed.