Fagiolata

Fagiolata can be translated as a “mess o’beans”. I found this recipe in Naples At Table. Chris loved this. I loved it too.

This my take on the original recipe –
 
Ingredients-
3 tbsp. olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
8 oz. fully cooked sausage, Salami, Soppressata or pepperoni, cut into bits size pieces
2 cups canned tomatoes, chopped, with juices
4 cups tomato puree
Hot pepper oil to taste
2 tbsp chopped parsley, or basil, sage or celery leaves
14 oz can of cannellini beans, rinsed and drained

Method-
In a large pot over medium heat, want the oil, add the onion and sauté until very tender, about 8 minutes.
Add the sausage and toss it with the onion over medium heat for 2 minutes. Add the tomatoes and tomato puree. Bring to a simmer then adjust the heat so tomatoes simmer simmer gently for about 20 minutes, until the mixture cooks down to a medium-bodied sauce.
Add the remaining ingredients. Heat through for about 10 minutes. 

Don’t forget the Italian Bread with this dinner!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.