Bad Ricotta = Good Pasta

Tonight I was planning on making Baked Stuffed Shells with Butternut Squash and Burrata from Tasting Table. I had the squash, thank you Lenore and Ralph, which I had roasted on Sunday. I picked up the Burrata and the shells last night. But I forgot the ricotta. Not a problem as I had to run to Robert’s at lunch. I worked from home today so instead of sitting in traffic after work I got to make dinner. I love being able to do this.

I boiled the shells and got the ingredients on the counter and was about to put the ricotta in the bowl and I thought to myself, “taste the ricotta.” Bleah! Bleah! No good!

The shells were done so there was not turning back. I thought quickly, yes the first idea was to order Chinese. Then I decided to change directions a bit. I had sauce in the freezer. I had some leftover ziti with meatballs from the other night in the fridge. I thawed the sauce and added it to the ziti and meatballs and tossed in about 1/2 of the cooked shells. I also added some mozzarella. I put the pasta mixture in baking dish and topped it with the Parmigiano-Reggiano and the Burrata. It baked for about 25 minutes.

It was delicious! Could it have been that I added a little dark chocolate to the sauce? Shhhhhh. This might be my secret ingredient!

About butiamlucia123

I am a graphic/web designer. When not at work I love being in the kitchen. It brings back good memories of all the great cooks in my family who are no longer with us. Sometimes when my husband comes home he will say our house smells like an Italian restaurant. I know of no greater compliment.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.